Good Days

“The worst part of a good day is knowing it’s slipping away.” – Counting Crows

As usual, I had my Spotify playing while at work today and these lyrics hit home. For many of us who struggle with mental illness, you just never know when the darkness will hit. I’ve caught my self worrying and having anxiety when I’m having a great day because I know it won’t last. I know that it is only a matter I understand this... I wouldn't be the same without the things I've survived. I'd love to not remember the things I do, but at the same time.... At the same time, my past shaped me. And without it, I would not be who I am, and I get more comfortable with who she is every day.of time before the sadness takes over and pulls me down. I catch myself avoiding friends and family, afraid to be happy – knowing the crash that comes afterwards is not worth it. I refer to it as the “afterburn”. Have I forgotten who I am without the darkness?

I’m not sure which is worse, the loneliness when avoiding the light or the darkness that comes after it…?

 

Leave a Reply

