Be the Change

...There will always be someone out there that needs what you have to give.:

Last night I had the opportunity to be a part of a group mentoring session with Tulsa’s ReEntry One Stop. This organization helps women and men coming out of incarceration to reintegrate back into the community. (See link below) They set up mentors with inmates to be a friend – not a mother, babysitter, counselor, parole officer – but just someone who can be there to support them. Many women are about to go home to the same situations that got them in trouble before – to abusive relationships, family and friends suffering from addiction, communities that do not support the new life they are trying to build.

I came into this program hoping that God would use me to change lives, however I think he’s using it to change me as well! To hear these women talk about how they want to be like myself and the other mentors one day. Where they can see what it’s like to have a “normal” life, and to be able to give back and help others was completely amazing.

In the last year I’ve become involved in many different aspects from joining a few boards to being more hands-on. This is definitely the way to go if you ask me! To actually meet these people first hand and show them that you are the same. That they can get out of the lives they had before, they can learn how to be mothers again, to support themselves, and to help others!

I know no one lives near me, but here is the link I mentioned.. Just to see what this program is all about and maybe you can find something similar near you!

http://www.csctulsa.org/content.php?p=316

Thanks!

Meg

One thought on “Be the Change

Leave a Reply

