Mornings

 

Mornings

Some people wake up each morning ready to tackle the day. I am not one of those people. 🙂 I set my alarm way early so I have time to hit snooze at least 3 or 4 times. It doesn’t matter if I am getting 8 hours or 4, mornings are just not my thing. However, I set out to make this year great, to make changes and begin new habits. One of these that I have been working on is getting up early and starting the day right! Below are a few of the tips I have been implementing into my routine. Don’t worry – this may take some time to get used to, but it will be worth it!
1. Not leaving my phone by my bed. This is a big one for me. I like to browse Facebook, Pinterest, or any other social media site before going to bed (which is also not good for your sleep cycle). Leaving my phone near me also makes it MUCH easier to hit snooze. I am still tempted to crawl back into bed – and I may have once or twice  – but typically once I’m up, I’m good to go!
2. Open your blinds! The best way to get your body used to waking up early is to let nature help! It can be tempting to keep those blinds shut, but letting the sunshine come in has made it even easier to not crawl back into bed once I turn off the alarm. It also helps perk me up a bit, as it’s a lot more difficult to be grumpy when the sun is shining!
3. Plan your outfit the night before. This is one of the easiest things you can do! I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t always feel like wearing what I laid out, and on those days I’ll find something else. But this at least gets my mind focused on the rest of the day. Especially for us girls, if we need to shave or not. LOL From my experience, you can tell a huge difference from the days that I plan my outfit from the days that I don’t. As you go throughout your day, you will feel more confident if you feel like you are “put together” well!


4. Drink a glass of water! Cold or my preference – warm honey lemon water. Whether you feel it or not, your body is dehydrated when you wake up. You’ve most likely gone at least 8 hours without having fluids, it’s time to kick-start your digestion! I prefer hot tea or warm honey-lemon water, especially on cold mornings. If nothing else, at least drink a solid 8 ounces of water. This *can* help curb your appetite, jump-start digestion, help you rehydrate, and it also sets a healthy precedence for the day!
5. Make time to do something that is just for you! This can be reading a devotional or something that will be uplifting to start your day, taking 5 minutes to stretch, take your dog around the block, or even try a little yoga. I like to change this up throughout the week and some days I prefer doing yoga/stretching in the evening. But being able to take a few minutes to focus on my mental health and wellbeing puts me in a better mood and enables me to be prepared for whatever the day throws my way.
6. Always leave early! This is probably the most difficult thing for me. No matter how early I get up for work, I always seem to be running behind. The trouble is, we never know when we might hit backed-up traffic, a construction zone, or any number of things on our way to work and even if we have a legitimate reason for being late, your boss will notice. If this is something that happens every week, they will most likely begin to question your dedication to your position. Don’t be that person who runs in the office at 8am every single day. Try to get there even 5 or 10 minutes early! You will have time to make that cup of coffee and make a to-do list for your day, and it will make a difference!
For those of you who hate mornings, like me, I hope this can help you get into a better routine! I have to admit, I am still struggling to make this all an everyday occurrence, but it is helping me to get on the right track! Have a great day!
Always, Meg.

4 thoughts on “Mornings

  1. I’m a habitual snoozer. Probably has more to do with me being a night owl and not a morning person. I currently utilize #1, #3, and #6, but will try #2 and #4…maybe a bed catapult too. lol

Leave a Reply

