Make a LIfe That’s YOURS

27…..

The number of years I have been on this earth and yet, I am still working to find my purpose.  I may have mentioned before that I am currently pursuing my Bachelor’s in Psychology, with hopes to gain my Masters (eventually).  It’s a slow, slow process since I work full time and such. While I know this is a path I am passionate about, I have not settled on a certain career goal.

During dinner with a friend the other night this conversation came up, some of my goals and how to get there.  She had a wonderful suggestion that I felt compelled to share.  She said to write your eulogy.  Now many may see this as slightly morbid, but the idea is actually very conducive.  She said to focus on what you would like others to remember about you, things you want to accomplish, and write them down.  Use these and work backwards from these goals, this will create a better plan.  It will also help you to focus on  what is really important.

I am currently working on mine and will post once I have it completed.  I feel like some things seem a little cheesy, and some are far-fetched, but I am excited to have a clear focus. I hope you find this little bit of advise helpful! 🙂

Always,

Meg

4 thoughts on “Make a LIfe That’s YOURS

  1. This reminds me of habit #2 in The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Begin with the end in mind. That chapter asked readers to imagine their funerals, with four speakers: a friend, a family member, a coworker, and someone from church or a community organization.

  2. really impressive idea, that way we can think of all the things,
    we want to be remembered for,
    so we can progress towards the things which matter for us.

    May the good Lord take a liking to you.

Leave a Reply

